Introduction (and Updates) to the On-line Edition
We are mounting our existing guide, How to Research the History of
Your House (or Other Building) in New Orleans, more or
less as is. Material enclosed in brackets {} indicates changes made to the published
edition. Until such time as a full scale revision of the guide can be written,
key relevant additions to our collections or to our website will be noted here:
- Orleans Parish. Conveyance Records, 1827-1887; index, 1827-1900 [VW420]
The Orleans Parish conveyance records were filmed by the GSU in the early 1970s. The
Conveyance
Office's donor copies of the microfilm have recently been deposited in the Louisiana Division. (181
reels)
- Alphabetical and Numerical Index of
Changes in Street Names and Numbers, Old and New, 1852 to Current Date [1938]
- Alphabetical Index
of
Changes in Street Names, Old and New
Period 1852 to Current Date, Dec. 1st 1938
- Index to Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for
New Orleans, 1885-1896
- Louisiana Division Photograph Collection
In-progress online is our effort to scan the photographs -- including many photographs of local buildings and
residences -- and add them to our website.
- An inventory of the James Harrison Dakin Collection is now
online, complete with digital copies of the architectural plans in the collection.
- Our guide to building plans in the City Archives has been
completed
and is available on-line
- The Friends of the Cabildo, under the leadership of Robbie Cangelosi,
has produced a guide to the building contracts in the Notarial
Archives. A print out of this guide, arranged alphabetically by street
address is available at the Louisiana Division reference desk. Future
enhancements to this project are expected in the near future;
- The Department of Safety and Permits transferred the Plan Processing
Section's building plan index to the City Archives. The Historic New
Orleans Collection arranged for the index to be microfilmed and for
copies of the film to be available in the Louisiana Division. Many of
the plans listed in this index have not survived in the City
Archives, but the data provided may be useful in tracking down building
permits and/or copies of the plans in other locations.
Back to the Table of Contents
Back to Archives and Special Collections
|